Birth Certificates, No matter if you are across town or the country, the easiest way to order birth certificates!
Birth Certificate Info
Death Record, to manage estate matters, genealogy, or any other reason; the quickest way to order death records!
Death Certificate Info
Marriage Licenses, Document one of the happiest days of our lives; the easiest and quickest way to order marriage licenses!
Marriage Certificate Info
Divorce Record, are needed to get another Marriage Certificate, and are very helpful in genealogy research.  Order divorce records!
Divorce Record Info
Obtaining Virginia Death Certificates

Introduction to Virginia Death Certificates

 

This article is designed to help you get a Virginia Death certificate.  Counter to common belief, not everything is on the Internet.  Personal Death certificates are one of the items that are not readily available online, and that is probably a good thing.  You do not want a Death certificate in the public domain, where it can be seen by anyone.  However, this does not mean that you can’t easily get your Death certificate.  

Virginia Death certificates have been maintained by the Virginia Division of Vital Records and Health Statistic for individuals that died in the state of Virginia, between 1853 to 1896 and every Death certificate since 1912.  Only the cities of Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk and Richmond have records between 1896 and June 14, 1912.

 

Virginia Death Certificate Authorized Persons

 

By Virginia state law, Virginia Death certificates are confidential records and can only be obtained by the following authorized individuals:

  • Mother/Father (or Legal Guardian) of Person Named on the Virginia Death Certificate
  • Grandparents and Great Grandparents of Person Named on the Virginia Death Certificate
  • Husband/Wife of Person Named on the Virginia Death Certificate 
  • Adult Son/Daughter of Person Named on the Virginia Death Certificate
  • Sister/Brother of individual named on the Virginia Death certificate 
  • Legal Representative of an Authorized Person of Person Named on the Virginia Death Certificate

 

Virginia Death Certificate for Genealogy Purpose

 

Anyone can obtain a Virginia Death Certificate, 100 years or later from the date of the Death for genealogy or other reasons.

 

Virginia Death Certificate Ordering

 

Options Option 1 – Order Virginia Death Certificate Online

This option is the simplest and easiest way to get your Virginia Death Certificate.  Order online and you will get your Virginia Death Certificate usually in less than a week.  Many times you will have the option of receiving your vital record by next-day or second-day service.

Order Birth and Death Records Online!  

 

Option 2 – Order Virginia Death Certificate through the Mail

Follow the instructions below, if you are not ordering your Virginia Death certificate online.  It usually takes 10-15 days upon receipt of request to be sent to you:


Step 1: Download Mail-In Application

Step 2: Please provide as much of the following information as possible to locate the Virginia Death certificate:

  • Full name of person at Death on the Virginia Death certificate
  • Date of Death on the Virginia Death certificate
  • Sex on the Virginia Death certificate
  • County (or city) of Death on the Virginia Death certificate
  • Your name 
  • Your signature 
  • Your relationship to the person whose Virginia Death certificate you are requesting 
  • Address where the Virginia Death certificate is to be mailed 
  • Self addressed stamped envelope
  • Your daytime phone number
  • By Mail: Send the above information and the appropriate fee to:
 
Division of Vital Records
P. O. Box 1000
Richmond, VA 23218-1000

 

Option 3 – In Person

In Person in Virginia: You may go to any county health department in the State of Virginia to obtain a certified copy of a Virginia Death certificate. Most Virginia Death certificates can be issued while you wait.

 

Virginia Death Certificate Ordering Cost

 

The fee to search for a Virginia Death certificate is $12.00, which includes one certified copy of the Virginia Death certificate or a "Certificate of Failure to Find." For each additional copy of the Virginia Death certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $12.00. Checks or Money Orders should be made payable to "Virginia State Health Department." Please do not send cash. Fees are not refundable. Additional fees are required for expedited service. 

Last Updated on Saturday, 22 August 2009 00:22